Documents

The future of the Foundation depends on its capability to attract younger generations and schools, and arouse their interest in Martin Bodmer’s intellectual and spiritual treasures. It is a unique heritage that has to be passed on.

How can we make this happen? First, with the help of teaching staff we intend to develop educational materials for schools. This will be done in collaboration with the Education Department of the Canton of Geneva, which has offered its support.

From the point of view of history, writing and books have a story to tell… Scientific studies abound and ours is a very modest contribution. But we have one advantage: our contribution is based on our own original documents. With feedback from the public we will continue to improve and develop our materials and outreach.

This section of the website is intended as an open-ended educational project that will open the doors to discovery and learning.

La collection Sources

Documents

L’avenir de la collection Bodmer dépend de notre capacité à intéresser les jeunes générations et le public scolaire aux richesses intellectuelles et spirituelles des écrits rassemblés au fil d’une vie par Martin Bodmer. C’est un patrimoine, et nous avons le devoir de le transmettre.

Comment rendre accessible cette matière foisonnante ? Il nous faut élaborer avec les maîtres et les pédagogues un matériel didactique qui restera à disposition des écoles. C’est aussi un engagement de la Fondation auprès du Département de l’Instruction publique du Canton de Genève qui nous apporte son soutien.

La première démarche est d’abord historique. L’écriture et le livre ont une histoire. Les études savantes ne manquent pas, il ne s’agit ici que d’une modeste synthèse, mais qui s’appuie sur nos propres documents originaux et qu’il sera possible d’améliorer et d’approfondir selon les suggestions et les apports de chacun. Cette section se propose donc comme un projet ouvert, évolutif, invitant à la découverte, au bénéfice d’une formation.

La collection Sources